What is True Happiness?

I’ve begun a journey of researching happiness and finding out why it’s OK, even important, to be happy.  I’ve picked up some books at the library and ordered some books on Amazon.  One book that I’m reading, in addition to The Happiness Dare by Jennifer Dukes Lee, is Happiness: Unlocking the Mysteries of Psychological Wealth by Ed Diener and Robert Biswas-Diener.

mydesign

I’ve only just begun this second book, so I cannot speak much on how I feel about it, but I did want to share an interesting quote from the first chapter.

What Happiness: Unlocking the Mysteries of Psychological Wealth has opened my eyes to is that happiness is more than just a good feeling or a positive state of mind.  Happiness encompasses having several specific areas of your life in a healthy state.  The authors write:

“Here are some essential components of true wealth:

  • Life satisfaction and happiness
  • Spirituality and meaning in life
  • Positive attitudes and emotions
  • Loving social relationships
  • Engaging activities and work
  • Values and life goals to achieve them
  • Physical and mental health
  • Material sufficiency to meet our needs”

The focus of this book is what the authors have called “psychological wealth,” which includes happiness, but also includes so much more, as you see above.

I wanted to share this perspective on happiness because I believe it’s right on target.  I’ll be using this quote to set my direction as I explore what happiness really is and as I share how essential oils can help you on your journey to life satisfaction.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

