Fighting Apathy

If you struggle with apathy, you may often have low desire to participate in life.  You may lack interest in or enthusiasm for activities that one typically would consider enjoyable.  Apathy can be a part of depression, but is something that can be experienced on its own.

As I think more about apathy, because I struggle with this, I am realizing that it is affecting me physically.  Though there may be other contributing factors, I believe that apathy is stealing my energy.  It’s miserable: to have little desire to do anything and little energy to do what you think you need to be doing.

So I’m trying to get to the root of my apathy.  My first line of defense when I feel apathetic is to just get up and do something anyway, especially something that I feel has meaning.  This can be really hard, but sometimes just cleaning the bathroom can catapult me into the day with energy.  I can get especially motivated if start working on something I know I love, like painting a piece of furniture of decorating our home.

Secondly, I’m looking deeper to see if there are some hidden reasons why I feel the way I do.  What is causing me to decide not to be active when I can choose to be?  Could my apathy be laziness?

IMG_8616.JPG

Additionally, I’m adding essential oils into the mix.  One of my favorite oils is cypress essential oil, which is the oil of motion and flow.  This oil helps you get unstuck and helps the perfectionist to go with the flow and to be adaptable to whatever life brings.  Another oil that would be helpful is Encouraging Blend (Peppermint Plant, Clementine Peel, Coriander Seed, Basil Herb, Yuzu Peel, Melissa Leaf, Rosemary Leaf, Vanilla Bean), which helps energize and motivate the unmotivated person.

Don’t get me wrong, I usually accomplish a good bit in a day.  It’s just that I can lack the heart and joy that I want to accompany my actions.  I lack zest for life.

What about you?  How do you cope with apathy?

 

Leave a Reply

