You Can Change

If you have been struggling with the same emotional issues for a long time, even years, I would like to give you hope: you can change!

change begins with me

I’ve spent the majority of my life struggling with emotional and mental issues.  After college I began getting professional help and seeking out other avenues to help myself change.  For years on end, I was unsure of what was going on with me.  I sought the Lord daily for help and deliverance.  He has certainly answered my prayers.  However, it has taken time and, especially, work.

For me, the biggest kind of work that I’ve put into developing my emotional and mental wellness is changing the way I think.  Did you know that we can inherit attitudes, perspectives and thought patterns from our parents through our DNA?  We also absorb a lot of attitudes and thought patterns from the environment (family, friends, church, community, etc.) that we grow up in.  Thoughts and dispositions are also developed as we choose how we respond to circumstances and events in our lives.

The Bible says to take all of our thoughts captive to make them obedient to Christ (2 Corinthians 10:5).  It also says to think on what is true, noble, right, pure, etc. (Philippians 4:8).  So God must know that it’s very important for us to pay attention to our thought life.

Did you know that essential oils can help us change the way we think?  I like to couple the use of essential oils with regular affirmations.  One oil that I am focusing on currently in bergamot, which emotionally is the oil of self-acceptance.  One thought pattern that I am battling right now is thinking that I have not ordered my day well enough or accomplished tasks in my day well enough.  To help me move past this long-standing thought pattern, I am applying bergamot about every four hours to the back of my neck and to my wrists and telling myself that I am doing just fine.  A simple statement, but a big shift in my thinking.

What thought pattern are you battling?  What way of thinking do you want to change?  Leave a message or contact me at TheAromatherapyMama@gmail.com.  I can help you find the right essential oil to help you correct your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

